top of page

My 180 Wellness Experience

The first resort that Retreats at Resorts started working with was 180 Wellness which is based at Absolute Twin Sands Resort and Spa just out of Phuket in Thailand. The lovely Irene who is the Sales Manager invited me along as their guest to experience the Bliss Spa Package - and as many of you that will attend retreat there will take part in this I wanted to share my experience with you all.


It was a flight via Singapore that got me to Phuket arriving about 8.00pm in the evening I found the transfer guy and he found me a taxi - which when the driver opened the boot there was an empty spare wheel cavity that was filled with water where he was going to put my bag - in a frantic lot of signalling he realised that this was not appropriate (he spoke no English and I no Thai) and put everything in the back seat. I wondered if this was an oman for a terrible week - I could not have been more wrong! After a quiet 60 minute ride through the streets I arrived about 10.30pm at the resort and was welcomed by the front desk guy who checked me in and carried my bag up the three flights of stairs as the lift was having maintenance - I was very glad to get into the air conditioned room I can tell you!


The decor of the room was chrisp and clean and a decor of luxury in black, grey and white - the bed was huge and comfortable and I slunk into sleep wondering what breakfast would be. Because, after all, I was here to go through a detox of sort and pamper myself with 2 hours of massages a day.


Let's talk about that first - 2 HOURS of SPA TREATMENTS EVERYDAY - this was bliss I have never felt so pampered and relaxed in my life, and that certainly showed as I was sleeping until 9.30am each morning. The skills of the staff at the spa showed they where experienced and well trained it wasn't just a pop up massage shop like down in Patong Beach. I love massages and try to get as many in when I am away on holidays and this did not disappoint. To start with I had an intro session with the Spa Manager to understand what I would experience during the week. Had it taken my fancy and I had been awake I could have gone to Yoga and the daily Thai Tea Ceremony that will connect you to culture of the host country. Clearly though I needed the rest and a technology detox at the same time.


The FOOD was unbelievably fantastic from the first bit to the last, breakfast was amazing - fruit platters with mango dipping sauce, or a delicious porridge (which I generally hate). I was pleasantly surprised as I worried that I would have to sneak into Patong Beach to buy food or hide it in my room. Lunch was salad, fish, chicken, beef and even some pasta one day. Dinner was also an amazing mix of fusion food - the chef is Italian - so Thai, come Italian and one day there where even Mexican tones in the food. I was in food bliss - and it was all healthy and filling - there was no need to sneak into town to find extra food after all. There was also a beauty about this menu as if you decided you didn't want what was on the menu you can order from the main menu and there was no judgement at all from anyone and not a carrot stick or lettuce leaf in sight.

I made amazing plans in my head to keep up a healthy eating regime when I came home -which lasted 2 days as I hadn't altered my mind to do this - one of the perfect things about the retreats is you can do some planning to take this more relaxed you back home.


I loved my time here and now have the ability to talk about what you will receive on retreat - the staff are so friendly and obliging, those in the spa are well trained and know their stuff which is what you need in a massage therapist. Michael Massey who is the Global Director of Wellness Operations for Absolute World Group and Irene Leong who is the Marketing Manager of 180 Wellness are super excited that our retreats will beheld with them and to be the first resort to see how retreats change lives in what is becoming a holiday sensation and a brand new way to take a break from our very busy everyday lives.


104 views0 comments
bottom of page